Local  Committee


The Local Committee is established by The MILL Academy Trust Board and  has three key functions in their relationship with the school: Support, Challenge and Champion. The functions, duties and proceedings of the Local Committee are set out in The MILL Academy Trust’s Scheme of Delegation and Terms of Reference. Each Local Committee volunteer plays an essential part in making sure that the committee as a whole works effectively. All Local Committee volunteers abide by a code of conduct which includes the seven principles of public life.


Henry Box attended Oriel College, Oxford and was a Master of the Worshipful Company of Grocers in London.  The relationship between the school and these two institutions has continued over the centuries. Both organisations nominate individuals to be appointed to the Local  Committee.


The Local  Committee has three link Local Committee volunteers for Safeguarding, Special Educational Needs and Disability and Grants such as  Pupil Premium and Catch up Fund. The Local Committee meets three times a year.


The Chair of the Local Committee is Kathie Flanagan.

Email clerk@henrybox.oxon.sch.uk


The Local Committee (LC) 2022/23


Elected by parents/ carers

Term of Office Ends

Pecuniary and Personal Interests

Kathie Flanagan

Committee Chair

29 March 2021

28 March 2025


Joanna Hoskin

7 December 2022

6 December 2026


Academy Appointed 

Appointed by Trustees

Term of Office Ends

Pecuniary and Personal Interests

Helen Marshall

7 July 2021

6 July 2025


Joshua Rowley

(Grocers' Hall)

7 December 2022 6 December 2026 None


(Oriel College)





Elected/Appointed by staff

Term of Office Ends

Pecuniary and Personal Interests

Wendy Hemmingsley Headteacher

Ex-offico post


Headteacher, CEO and Accounting Officer of The MILL Academy

Francis Howarth 

1 March 2023 1 March 2027 None


Previous Local Committee Volunteers 2021/2022


Date Appointed

End of office or Stepped down date

Dr Hilary Davan-Wetton 17 April 2019 31 December 2021
Olivia McPhee 24 September 2019 13 March 2022
Rachel Breward 1 May 2018 30 April 2022
Dr Angela Bamigboye 29 March 2021 22 June 2022