Local Governor Committee

Parent Governors 2
Academy Appointed Governors 6
Staff Governors (including the Headteacher) 2
Total 10
Clerk 1


The Local Governing Body (referred to as Local Governor Committee) is established by The MILL Academy Trust Board and  has three key functions in their relationship with the school: Support, Challenge and Champion. The functions, duties and proceedings of the Local Governor Committee is set out in The MILL Academy Trust’s Scheme of Delegation and Terms of Reference. Each governor plays an essential part in making sure that the committee as a whole works effectively. All governors abide by a code of conduct which includes the seven principles of public life.


Henry Box attended Oriel College, Oxford and was a Master of the Worshipful Company of Grocers in London.  The relationship between the school and these two institutions has continued over the centuries. Both organisations nominate governors to be appointed to the Local Governor Committee.


The Local Governor Committee has three link governors for Safeguarding, Special Educational Needs and Disability and Grants such as  Pupil Premium and Catch up Fund. The Local Governor Committee meets six times a year.


The Chair of the Local Governor Committee is Prof. John West Burnham.

Email governors@henrybox.oxon.sch.uk.


The Local Governor Committee (LGC) 2018/19

Parent Goverors (2) Elected by parents/ carers Term of Office Ends Pecuniary & Personal Interests
Ms Elizabeth Frost 11/10/17 11/10/21 Head of Faculty English & Maths at Abingdon & Witney College
Mr James Nellist 15/05/18 14/05/22 Director Aubon Limited
Academy Appointed Governors (6) Appointed by Trustees Term of Office Ends Pecuniary & Personal Interests

Prof. John West Burnham

Chair of the LGC

10/10/18 10/10/22 Chair of The MILL Academy Board of Trustees. Asset Education, Ipswich; Trustee Chair of Board MAT; The Olive Trust, Suffolk Member MAT; GR8ASURE Anti-bullying charity Director
Mrs Helen Marshall 11/07/17 11/07/21 None
Ms Laura Lamb 17/10/18 17/10/22 None

Mrs Rachel Breward

(Oriel College)

01/05/18 01/05/22 Treasurer of Sacred Heart Church, Blackbird Leys

Brownie Leader, Abingdon
Staff Governors (2) Appointed by Trustees Term of Office Ends Pecuniary & Personal Interests
Ms Wendy Hemmingsley Headteacher Ex-offico post n/a Headteacher, CEO and Accounting Officer of The MILL Academy