Local  Committee


The Local Committee is established by The MILL Academy Trust Board and  has three key functions in their relationship with the school: Support, Challenge and Champion. The functions, duties and proceedings of the Local Committee are set out in The MILL Academy Trust’s Scheme of Delegation and Terms of Reference. Each Local Committee volunteer plays an essential part in making sure that the committee as a whole works effectively. All Local Committee volunteers abide by a code of conduct which includes the seven principles of public life.


Henry Box attended Oriel College, Oxford and was a Master of the Worshipful Company of Grocers in London.  The relationship between the school and these two institutions has continued over the centuries. Both organisations nominate individuals to be appointed to the Local  Committee.


The Local  Committee has three link Local Committee volunteers for Safeguarding, Special Educational Needs and Disability and Grants such as  Pupil Premium and Catch up Fund. The Local Committee meets three times a year.


The Chair of the Local Committee is Dr. Hilary Davan Wetton.

Email clerk@henrybox.oxon.sch.uk


The Local Committee (LC) 2021/22


Elected by parents/ carers

Term of Office Ends

Pecuniary & Personal Interests

Dr Angela Bamigboye

29 March 2021

28 March 2025

Director; Light House Ministry Limited, Youth Identity Camp, Oxford

Kathie Flanagan

29 March 2021

28 March 2025


Academy Appointed 

Appointed by Trustees

Term of Office Ends

Pecuniary & Personal Interests

Helen Marshall

7 July 2021

6 July 2025

Leader of a children's singing group, Witney 

Chair of Kads an amateur dramatics charity, Kennington

Rachel Breward

(Oriel College)

01 May 2018

30 April 2022

Treasurer of Sacred Heart Church, Blackbird Leys

Brownie Leader, Abingdon


Elected/Appointed by staff

Term of Office Ends

Pecuniary & Personal Interests

Wendy Hemmingsley Headteacher

Ex-offico post


Headteacher, CEO and Accounting Officer of The MILL Academy

Olivia McPhee

24 September 2019

23 September 2023

Assistant SENDCo


Previous Local Committee Volunteers 2020/21


Date Appointed

End of office or Stepped down date

Nigel Moore

1 September 2019

2 October 2020

James Nellist

15 May 2018

1 February 2021

Dr Hilary Davan-Wetton 17 April 2019 31 December 2021